If you are using UserVoice, you may want to collect consent when a new EU user first signs in on the web portal or uses the widget. We walk you through how our features work, and in what scenarios.
Who will see Consent Dialogue
New EU users (based on user’s IP) that do one of the following:
- Log in your public facing web portal (i.e. xxxx.uservoice.com) using UserVoice’s default authentication.
- Interact with one of our widgets (post idea or NPS) and manually enter their own email address (i.e. you are not passing their email address for them)
What Users Will See
- Web Portal: When a new user first creates their profile with an email address, Gmail or Facebook, they will be prompted to accept the ToS and consent for their email address, name and IP to be stored. If they do not give consent, they will not be able to create a profile.
- Widget: When a user submits an Idea via the widget, or gives an NPS rating, they will be prompted to accept the ToS and consent for their email address, name and IP to be stored. If they do not give consent, they will not be able to proceed.
Q: What about when a user clicks "vote" on an idea and enters their email address?
Q: What is the wording you use in the consent dialogue?
A: Common Reasons:
- Are you using SSO? You and your team are responsible for collecting consent. UserVoice consent dialogue will not show.
- Are you passing an email address for the user (like with .identify)? You and your team are responsible for collecting consent. UserVoice consent dialogue will not show.
- If you are using custom design like CSS, ensure your design team has not hidden part of the dialogue with their styles.
- If the above don’t apply, ensure they are coming from an EU IP address. The consent dialogue will only show to users who are coming from an EU IP.
A: No, this only applies for new users. If you need to collect consent retroactively, you will need to do this on your end.